Friday, May 24, 2013

Mentos...Gluten free?

Although some people considered Mentos to be gluten free, they are not. Here is the company's reply to the inquiry on the subject:

The only raw material which is derived from wheat is the glucose syrup. The syrup meets the requirements for “gluten-free goods” as laid down in the Codex Alimentarius (CODEX STAN 117-1981/ max of 20 mg per kg). However, nearly all ingredients are derived from agricultural products and could be processed on equipment that also handles products containing gluten. Therefore Perfetti Van Melle does not actually claim that Mentos are gluten-free.

Monday, May 6, 2013

Dorito's Nacho Cheese: Gluten Free!!!!!

Dorito's made an exciting announcement: Dorito's Nacho Cheese Chips are now gluten free!!!! Here is their reply to the inquiry:

Thank you for writing to us. The wheat flour has been removed from Doritos Nacho Cheese and it no longer contains any gluten ingredients.

There is still some older packaging material being used that list wheat flour as an ingredient even though it was removed several months ago. The information on the website will be updated when we are certain that old packaging is no longer being used.

We consider you a valued consumer and hope you will continue to enjoy snacks from Frito-Lay.

Best regards,

Belinda
Frito-Lay Consumer Relations
011991997A